Jewish Studies at Santa Cruz: On the Cutting Edge of Tradition

Jewish Studies Alumni Conference and Celebration


April 26, 2009 | 1:00-3:30 PM | Free & Open to the Public
Humanities 1 Building, Room 210, UC Santa Cruz
Directions and Parking Information

official_logo_copy2One of the most important achievements of Jewish studies at UC-Santa Cruz is the remarkable number of alumni who have become distinguished scholars of Jewish studies in their own right. This conference brought these alumni together with their former teachers from a variety of disciplines to discuss the impact of Santa Cruz on their intellectual development and research, as well as to explore the question of whether there is a distinctly Santa Cruz approach to Jewish Studies. Alumni, current students and faculty, and other members of the broader Santa Cruz community were invited to attend and discuss Jewish studies past, present, and future on campus.


12:00-1:00 PM Buffet Lunch

1:00-3:30 PM Conference

  • Introductory remarks by Murray Baumgarten and Nathaniel Deutsch, Co-Directors of Jewish Studies at UC Santa Cruz.
  • Moderated discussion by participants.

3:30-4:00 PM Light Refreshments


Henry Goldschmidt, Assistant Professor of Religion and Society at Wesleyan University;

Rachel Havrelock, Assistant Professor of English and Jewish Studies at the University of Illinois, Chicago;

Brett Kaplan, Associate Professor of Comparative and World Literature and member of the Program in Jewish Culture and Society at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign;

Ari Y. Kelman, Assistant Professor of American Studies and a member of the Jewish Studies Program Committee at UC-Davis;

Akiba Lerner, Assistant Professor, Department of Religious Studies, Santa Clara University;

Tony Michels, George L. Mosse Associate Professor of American Jewish History at the University of Wisconsin-Madison;

David Neal Miller, Associate Professor of Yiddish in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures and a member of the Melton Center for Jewish Studies at Ohio State University;

Mark A. Raider, Professor of Modern Jewish History at the University of Cincinnati;

James E. Young, Professor of English and Judaic Studies and Chair of the Department of Judaic and Near Eastern Studies at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst;

Joshua D. Zimmerman, Associate Professor of History – Holocaust Studies and Eli and Diana Zborowski Professorial Chair in Interdisciplinary Holocaust Studies at Yeshiva University.

The conference was made possible by a generous grant from the David B. Gold Foundation.

Posted in Events.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: David B. Gold Foundation Distinguished Lecture series | Center for Jewish Studies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *